Marathon #7 a success, thanks to you! :)

It took 6 hours and 13 minutes, way longer than any of my marathons in the past. But the key thing is that I completed it. Which means that I will raise about P47,000 for charity patients in the PGH wards. Yahoo!!

I was really concerned before the race started because I barely had any rest. I fell asleep at around 8:30pm last night but for some strange reason, I woke up at 10:30pm. I couldn’t sleep anymore after that so I decided to just go for it. Making things even more difficult is the fact that there wasn’t a lot of shade in the new route, unlike before where the a lot of the route was shaded by trees and tall buildings. The lack of sleep, lack of training, and the intense Manila heat made me realize at some point that there was no way I was going to be under my time last year. So I decided to drop that plan and just make sure I finish.

I started really struggling in the last 6 or 7 kilometers. I ran out of Gatorade at that point and most water and Gatorade stations had already run out of water. Thankfully I run into Romy and the race support team of P&G and they give me some Gatorade with about 4.5 kilometers to go.

With 3.5 kilometers left, I figured I would just walk most of the way. Interestingly enough, I end up walking right next to someone who’s run several marathons before. We ended up just talking most of the way to the finish line, and started jogging again once we got to Luneta.

I was surprised that medals were still being given out at the finish, especially since I finished the marathon a lot faster last year than this year. Maybe less people ran or more medals were prepared, but I am pleasantly surprised to have a medal.

Thanks once again to my family and friends for your unbelievable support, encouragement, and generosity. Even if I started asking for pledges only 5 days ago, a lot of money was raised. Several friends have also indicated that they will make a donation but haven’t specified the amount, so the total may end up exceeding P50,000. Amazing!!

‘Til next year! Hopefully I can be disciplined enough to be in better shape then. 🙂

2 responses to “Marathon #7 a success, thanks to you! :)

  1. Congratulations Christian! you know I’m clapping for you best as I can though my left hand’s not cooperating for now. Looking forward to more achievements of yours in this light to help the less fortunate and going beyond your physical best with sheer determination and faith. Keep it up mah friend. you’ll never run out of support in us.

    Denz

  2. Wow! Congrats Christian! Sooo happy for you and for the people who will be receiving help because of this! 🙂

Leave a comment